Chris Blevins, Personal Statement

In light of the current national climate, please read the transcript below:

For audio, listen HERE

There are moments in a person’s life where one must take a stance.

Suzy Kassem said, “As a citizen of the world, I stand only with Truth and my conscience is my only leader.”

Today, I need to make it very clear that this podcast statement is my personal opinion.

I, Chris Blevins, am speaking from the heart, and do not infer my opinion as anyone else’s or upon any other entity. I speak because I need my own daughter to know without a doubt that I stand with her right to choose. I need my sons, without a doubt, to understand that they do not own another human being‘s body.

I, as a Certified Surgical Technologist, a distinction through which hard work, obtained degree and successful examination I have earned, will take care of every patient to the best of my ability.

Every patient, every surgery. I repeat every patient, every surgery.

I do not judge your religion. I do not judge your decisions and I will never place my personal beliefs or views ahead of being an advocate for you.

I do not care what state I live in, nor do I care what country I reside in. I will advocate for you to receive the absolute best care and aseptic technique when you, yourself, cannot do so.

Religion and politics will never play a role in the care you receive in my operating room. Your body and your decisions in regards to it are your right, and your right alone.

THAT is the definition of Aeger Primo, the patient first. Putting you and your care above all else has been the ideal to which I have strived to achieve my entire career and promise to do so until I can no longer hold a surgical instrument.

This is my promise to you and anyone who hears this.

http://www.suzykassem.com/SUZY%20KASSEM%20QUOTES%20%20-%20(C)%20ALL%20RIGHTS%20RESERVED.%20FREE%20TO%20SHARE%20WITH%20ATTRIBUTION%20ONLY.pdf

Published by

The Scrub Life Podcast

We have recently teamed up with the AST, the Association of Surgical Technologists! The Scrub Life Podcast is a forum for Surgical Technologists and Health professionals. Interviews, Stories, and Entertainment! Various episodes are group capstone projects by the students in Surgical Technology Program across the country and others are a mix of interviews, speeches, and topics spanning the world of surgery. Episode notes and research references are found here within this blog. Follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/thescrublifepodcast or on Instagram www.instagram.com/scrublifepodcast/. Email: chris@thescrublifepodcast.com

Leave a comment